You are currently viewing Conus vs. Oconus: Simple Breakdown of the Differences

Conus vs. Oconus: Simple Breakdown of the Differences

The lower 48 states are affectionately known to the Alaskans as the ‘Conus’. Outside Continental United States Overseas is any place beyond the United States.

What is considered Oconus?

If a spot is open for their rank, first termers are able to choose their duty station. They get to choose the location they want to serve in, unlike their first duty station. Many people look abroad at Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, and Hawaii and Alaska. Outside of Continental United States, these places are referred to as OCONUS. It’s important to understand the good and bad sides of serving at these locations because they have a variety of perks.

What is considered Oconus in the army?

What is OCONUS, first of all? OCONUS stands for’Outside the Continental United States’ and is used in the military. It means anywhere outside of the contiguous 48 states, Alaska, Guam, Hawaii, and Puerto Rico, which can be used for temporary or permanent duty stations.

What states are considered CONUS?

The contiguous United States, also known as the Lower 48, is made up of 48 contiguous states and the District of Columbia. The Hawaiian Islands and the U.S. territories in the Caribbean and the Pacific are not included in these.

Is Mexico considered CONUS?

The Space-A Regulation considers Alaska, Hawaii, and the U.S. territories to be overseas.

What CONUS means?

There is a large group of tropical marine snails that are capable of biting with the radula and injecting a paralytic venom that is dangerous because they are located in the southwest Pacific.